Williams Grove Opening Day Presented By Dieffenbach’s Potato Chips Is March 18

  Prestigious season opener showcases 410 sprints and super late models





Mechanicsburg – Williams Grove Speedway is set to return to racing in just one week, on Friday March 18 at 7:30 pm when it hosts the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprint cars on Opening Day presented by Dieffenbach’s Potato Chips. 


Opening Day presented by Dieffenbach’s Potato Chips will also include racing competition for the super late models.


The super stock cars rarely get to compete at Williams Grove these days and the show for the mighty super lates is highly anticipated.


Adult general admission for the prestigious season opener is set at just $15 with youth ages 13 – 20 admitted for just $10.  Ages 12 and under are always admitted for FREE at Williams Grove Speedway.


Dieffenbach’s Potato Chips of Womelsdorf will be providing samples of their original kettle cook potato chips to opening day fans at their hospitality tent located in the infield. 


Arynne Moody, the newly crowned Ms. Motorsports, will be on hand for the big season opener as well. 


The Williams Grove portion of the 50/50 ticket sales will be donated to the Wounded Warrior Project. 


Last season, Danny Dietrich claimed the March 27 opener for the 410 sprints at Williams Grove before going on to pick up three more checkered flags at the track during the season.


And in last year’s opening day super late model main, Nick Dickson of McVeytown wired the field for a 20-lap victory over Gary Stuhler.


Since 1939 when Tommy Hinnershitz won the inaugural race at the famed facility, so many highly recognized names and even some not so much have scored the prestigious first Williams Grove race of the year.


Well-knowns or on their way up the ladder at the time of their victories were the likes of Jan Opperman, AJ Foyt, Ted Horn and Hinnershitz.


Kasey Kahne, destined for bigger and better things in todays NASCAR arena, took the opener back in 2000. 


But perhaps lesser-known at the time or even unique names like Kevin Collins, Brian Paulus, Marlett Naill and Gig Stephens have also taken that famous first checkered flag of the year at Williams Grove. 


Williams Grove Speedway will return to action on March 25 at 7:30 pm with another program of 410 sprints and super late models with the late model show waged as a Late Model Speedweek qualifying event.  


Adult general admission for the March 25 show is again set at just $15 with youth ages 13 – 20 admitted for just $10.


Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by keeping up with the oval on Facebook or Twitter. 





2015        Danny Dietrich

2014        Gerard McIntyre Jr.

2013        Fred Rahmer

2012        Danny Dietrich

2011        Stevie Smith

2010        Fred Rahmer

2009        Todd Shaffer

2008        Fred Rahmer

2007        Mike Erdley

2006        Lance Dewease

2005        Fred Rahmer

2004        Greg Hodnett

2003        Cris Eash

2002        Greg Hodnett

2001        Don Kreitz Jr.

2000        Kasey Kahne

1999        Brian Paulus

1998        Fred Rahmer

1997        Fred Rahmer

1996        Kevin Gobrecht

1995        Lance Dewease

1994        Don Kreitz Jr.

1993        Keith Kauffman

1992        Don Kreitz Jr.

1991        Steve Smith

1990        Kenny Adams

1989        Stevie Smith

1988        Kenny Jacobs

1987        Cris Eash

1986        Keith Kauffman

1985        Keith Kauffman

1984        Keith Kauffman

1983        Kevin Collins

1982        Bobby Allen

1981        Lynn Paxton

1980        Lynn Paxton

1979        Kramer Williamson

1978        Bobby Allen

1977        Paul Pitzer

1976        Steve Smith

1975        Jan Opperman

1974        Kramer Williamson

1973        Jan Opperman

1972        Smokey Snellbaker

1971        Kenny Weld

1970        Jan Opperman

1969        Ray Tilley

1968        Kenny Weld

1967        Bobbie Adamson

1966        Leroy Felty

1965        Ray Tilley

1964        A.J. Foyt

1963        Don Branson

1962        Dick Tobias

1961        Leroy Felty

1960        Gig Stephens

1959        Frankie Thompson

1958        John Thompson

1957        Johnny Mackison Sr.

1956        Johnny Mackison Sr.

1955        Marlett Naill

1954        Johnny Thompson

1953        Jimmy Bryan

1952        Tommy Hinnershitz

1951        Troy Ruttman

1950        Bill Schindler

1949        Tommy Hinnershitz

1948        Ted Horn

1947        Ted Horn

1946        Walt Ader

1945        Ted Horn

1941        Vic Nauman

1940        Mark Light

1939        Tommy Hinnershitz



Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Info
Visitor Guide & FAQ
History & Win Lists