Daryn Pittman Completes Two-Day Outlaws Sweep At Williams Grove Speedway,

Pushes combined two-day total to $25,000 for KKR team





Mechanicsburg – Daryn Pittman of Owasso, Okla., put together a two-day sweep of World of Outlaws sprint car action at Williams Grove Speedway on Saturday night, wiring the field for the second night in a row at the track to record victory.


His win on Friday was worth $8,000 but his Saturday triumph was worth $17,000 in total, boosting his two-day total to a cool $25,000.


Pittman earned the pole by winning the dash and was flanked by Don Kreitz Jr. for the start of the 30-lap main.  Donny Schatz and Lucas Wolfe lined up in the second row.


And the race would be settled between, Pittman, Kreitz and Wolfe as the case would be with the duo of Kreitz and Wolfe dueling for second repeatedly during the mid stages as Pittman edged out to just enough of a lead as the pair scrapped. 


Kreitz gave close chase of Pittman when action got started and as it would turn out the race would go nonstop to the finish. 


Pittman took a page out of Kreitz’s book from the start when he glued himself to the inside groove as Wolfe thrusted around the outside cushion.


Wolfe pushed his Zemco No. 1 into second for the first time with nine laps away and it was then that Pittman would feel the most pressure for control. 


On two different occasions Wolfe drew directly up on Pittmans bumper as the pair crossed underneath the historic backstretch bridge but both times Wolfe fell just short of pulling the trigger for the lead.


Kreitz came back on Wolfe for second on the 16th circuit only to give it up on the next lap to Wolfe again. 


With 10 to go Kreitz was back into second, still trying to close on Pittman as the race worked through traffic.


With nine laps to go Wolf was back in the runner up position only to see Kreitz again secure the spot shortly before the final lap. 


Pittman meanwhile took advantage of the race for second between the pair to slowly edge out to about a one-turn margin at the finish.


“It couldn’t get any better than that,” Pittman said of his two-day Williams Grove sweep for the outlaws over the locals known as the Pennsylvania Posse. 


“This is a big weekend for this team.  I’m just a lucky guy getting’ to run this thing.” 


“I pretty much made up my mind I was gonna’ run the bottom and make them go around me on the outside,” Pittman said. 


“When you beat Donnie Kreitz here on the bottom you’ve done something.” 


Pittman’s win also secured the Morgan Cup trophy for another season for the World of Outlaws circuit.  The trophy will be put on display at outlaws headquarters in Concord, North Carolina until the cup contest is run again at next May’s Williams Grove event. 


Kreitz finished second in the Saturday feature.


“A couple times I ran in over the berm down there,” Kreitz said.


“We did the best we could.  Sorry to let the Posse fans down.”


Wolfe was third followed by Stevie Smith and Schatz.


Sixth through 10th went to Dave Blaney,  Paul McMahan, Shane Stewart, Kerry Madsen and Alan Krimes.


Heats for the 45-car field went to Wolfe, Joey Saldana, Kreitz and Pittman.


Jacob Allen took the C Main and Sammy Swindell took the B Main. 


McMahan set quick time with a lap of 16.889 seconds.


Two violent crashes took place in the qualifying heat races.


Twenty-time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser destroyed his car in the third heat after contact with a right rear sent him careening into the outside first turn wall which sent him into a vicious series of rolls after hard contact.


Dueling with Stevie Smith in the fourth heat to hold onto the second spot, Greg Hodnett destroyed his car as the pair raced onto the backstretch from the second corner.


When Hodnett came back on Smith for the second spot from the inside, he swiped the front of Smith’s car which turned him right and into the outside wall before flipping back across the track and stopping just short of the backstretch cross over.   




May 17, 2014 Feature Finish:


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Daryn Pittman, 2. Don Kreitz Jr., 3. Lucas Wolfe, 4. Stevie Smith, 5. Donny Schatz, 6. Dave Blaney, 7. Paul McMahan, 8. Shane Stewart, 9. Kerry Madsen, 10. Alan Krimes, 11. Logan Schuchart, 12. Ryan Smith, 13. Joey Saldana, 14. Jac Haudenschild, 15. Cody Darrah, 16. Lance Dewease, 17. David Gravel, 18. Sammy Swindell, 19. Kraig Kinser, 20. Brent Marks, 21. Brian Montieth, 22. Steve Buckwalter, 23. Brad Sweet, 24. Steve Kinser, 25. Jason Sides, 26. Doug Esh

DNQ: Chad Layton, Nicole Bower, Jacob Allen, Kyle Reinhardt, Austin Hogue, Brock Zearfoss, Adam Wilt, Glenndon Forsythe, Cory Haas, Trey Starks, Ryan Wilson, Justin Barger, Robbie Kendall, Troy Fraker, Greg Hodnett, Danny Dietrich, Danny Holtgraver, Gerard McIntyre Jr., Tyler Ross