Dietrich And Nouse Take First Williams Grove Sprint Wins Of Season





Mechanicsburg – Danny Dietrich was the third and final leader of Friday night’s 25-lap 410 sprint car feature at Williams Grove Speedway, taking his first win of the season at the track. 


Likewise in the 358 sprint main it was Kevin Nouse becoming the third and final leader to record his first of the season. 


Polesitter Austin Hogue took the lead in the 410 sprint main when action began with Ryan Wilson in tow. 


The first seven laps went non-stop before a caution slowed the pace for a spin in the fourth turn. 


A total of three attempts at the restart were needed before one more lap was recorded and another yellow flag bunched the field. 


And then the final 17 laps clicked off when action resumed with Wilson applying heavy pressure for control on the restart. 


Wilson kept going higher around the speedway until he finally pulled off a pass of Hogue using the rough cushion in the second turn on the 12th lap. 


But following him quickly into second was Dietrich a lap later.


Wilson was flying high for the next several laps, outdistancing Dietrich easily until the rear of the field came into play with seven laps to go.


It was then that the backmarker of Brock Zearfoss was in the line of Wilson’s race that forced him off of his rhythym and that’s all it took for Dietrich to pounce, also with a second turn move. 


The Gettysburg driver then pulled away to his eighth career win at the oval, which matches his father Dan on the oval’s all time win list. 


Wilson finished a robust second followed by Mark Smith, Lance Dewease and Hogue.


Sixth through 10th went to Alan Krimes, Adam Wilt, Brian Leppo, Chad Layton and Greg Hodnett.


Heats for the 24-car field went to Hodnett, Wilt and Layton.


Second starter Scott Fisher led the first five laps of the 20-lap 358 sprint main before he succumbed to Phil Walter’s high-wire act around the speedway that netted him control of the event.


And then Walter began getting away from the field in a search for his first ever Williams Grove victory.


Adrian Shaffer motored into second on the 13th tour with Walter well out in front but it was just then that Walter’s mount suddenly slowed with an overheating engine.


Shaffer then assumed control but would soon find defending track champion Kevin Nouse, who started 12th, contending for the top spot.


Knouse crossed the line with a lap to go just far enough to Shaffer’s inside to edge him off of the bottom groove as the pair raced into the first corner.


And that proved to be the winning move for Knouse who went on to take the ninth Williams Grove checkers of his career in the division.


Shaffer finished second followed by 10th starter Brock Zearfoss, Fisher and Tyler Esh.


Sixth through 10th went to Jay Galloway, Chandler Leiby, Doug Hammaker, Tony Smolenyak and Nyle Berkes.


Heats for the 21 cars went to Shaffer, Duane Watson and Nouse. 



May 2, 2014 Feature Finishes:


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Danny Dietrich, 2. Ryan Wilson, 3. Mark Smith, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Austin  Hogue, 6. Alan Krimes, 7. Adam Wilt, 8. Brian Leppo, 9. Chad Layton, 10. Greg Hodnett, 11. Doug Esh, 12. Ryan Smith, 13. Don Kreitz Jr., 14. Rick Lafferty, 15. Glenndon Forsythe, 16. Justin Barger, 17. Kyle Reinhardt, 18. Brock Zearfoss, 19. Cory Haas, 20. Rodney Westhafer, 21. Logan Wagner, 22. Nicole  Bower, 23. Mark Coldren, 24. Gerard McIntyre, Jr.

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Kevin Nouse, 2. Adrian Shaffer, 3. Brock Zearfoss, 4. Scott Fisher, 5. Tyler Esh, 6. Jay Galloway, 7. Chandler Leiby, 8. Doug Hammaker, 9. Tony Smolenyak, 10. Nyle Berkes, 11. Brie Hershey, 12. Matt Campbell, 13. Kody Lehman, 14. Kyle Purks, 15. Duane Watson, 16. Tommy Martocci, 17. Ryan Higgins, 18. Leah Starner, 19. DJ Montgomery, 20. Denny Gross, 21. Phil Walter