Buckwalter And Zearfoss Wire For Williams Grove Sprint Wins





Mechanicsburg – Steve Buckwalter and Brock Zearfoss wired the sprint car fields for the paydays at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, taking the 410 sprint and the 358 sprint feature events, respectively.


The start of the 410 sprint main got off to a rocky start when the red flag unfurled on the opening lap as the field roared down the frontchute only to find Chad Layton catapulting past the flag stand after starting 19th.


Layton escaped injury although portions of the front end of his car were lodged in the frontstretch retaining fence. 


Buckwalter rode the second starting spot into the lead when action resumed with Cory Haas racing second.


Fourth starter Brian Montieth moved into third at the start and the top three were still in that order when the caution flag unfurled with 12 laps down in the 25-lap feature. 


Montieth finally muscled by Haas for second with 10 laps to go but watched as his victory hopes went down the drain on the 19th lap when he withdrew from the event with motor problems. 


That put generous distance between Buckwalter and his next closest pursuer Haas that locked up Buckwalter’s sixth career victory at the track worth $3,600 plus $250 in lap money.


After starting 12th, Greg Hodnett rode home third followed by Don Kreitz Jr. and Ryan Wilson.


Kreitz took over the season point lead in an unofficial tally following the event. 


Sixth through 10th went to Austin Hogue, Lance Dewease, Doug Esh, Gerard McIntyre Jr. and Alan Krimes.


Heats for the 23 car field went to Kreitz, Krimes and Rick Lafferty.


Zearfoss started fourth in the 20-lap 358 sprint feature and drove alongside DJ Montgomery at the stripe to lead the first lap narrowly.


The Jonestown driver withstood four restarts with Montgomery in second to pick up his second career divison win at the oval by a straightaway margin.


Fifth starter Kody Lehman advanced during the race to end up second with Doug Hammaker finishing third.


Kevin Nouse was fourth and Montgomery faded to fifth at the finish.


Sixth through 10th went to Scott Fisher, Matt Campbell, Jay Galloway, Adrian Shaffer and Chandler Leiby. 


Heats for the 19 cars went to Brie Hershey and Phil Walter. 







May 30, 2014 Feature Finish:


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Steve Buckwalter, 2. Cory Haas, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Don Kreitz Jr., 5. Ryan Wilson, 6. Austin Hogue, 7. Lance Dewease, 8. Doug Esh, 9. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 10. Alan Krimes, 11. Brent Marks, 12. Ryan Smith, 13. Davey Sammons, 14. Brian Montieth, 15. Adam Wilt, 16. Danny Dietrich, 17. Rick Lafferty, 18. Glenndon Forsythe, 19. Scott Wilson, 20. Buzz Wilson, 21. Brock Zearfoss, 22. Nicole Bowers, 23. Chad Layton

358 sprints, 20 laps: 1. Brock Zearfoss, 2. Kody Lehman, 3. Doug Hammaker, 4. Kevin Nouse, 5. DJ Montgomery, 6. Scott Fisher, 7. Matt Cambpell, 8. Jay Galloway, 9. Adrian Shaffer, 10. Chandler Leiby, 11. Phil Walter, 12. Chris Arnold, 13. Kyle Purks, 14. Sean Campbell, 15. Rich Eichelberger, 16. Tyler Esh, 17. Jordan Givler, 18. Brie Hershey, 19. Brian Garland