Frankie Herr, Gene Knaub, and Craig Morgan Win Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Races

Mechanicsburg, PA June 29, 2014

Frankie Herr of Carlisle missed a third-lap crash to win the Williams Grove Speedway Saturday Night Series Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman feature.  Gene Knaub made a late-race pass to capture the victory in the Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Models.  Craig Morgan led every lap of the Aquafun Pools Street Stocks.

Davey Walsh led the first two circuits of the 20 lap Super Sportsman main.  Exiting turn two, in the third lap, there was contact between the lead cars triggering a multi-car back stretch crash.  Scott Geesey and Rich Eichelberger flipped in the melee.  All drivers escaped injury.

Rick Barr was the new leader following the restart with Walsh in second.  Frankie Herr, the 11th-place starter, sprinted into third.  Barr gained an eight-car length edge while Walsh and Herr fought for second.

The race went under a caution period in the 12th lap.  Frankie Herr used the restart to take over second behind leader Rick Barr.  With five laps remaining Herr was trailing Barr by six lengths.  One lap later the gap was down to three lengths. 

Herr, with two-laps remaining, went to the low side of turns one and two.  Barr and Herr were even at the entrance to turn three.  Herr was the new leader at the exit of turn four.

Frankie Herr won his second race of the season by 15 lengths over Rick Barr.  Russ Mitten was third, with Davey Walsh in fourth and Steve Wilbur was fifth.

Herr, Wilbur, and Barr won the heat races for the 30 entrants.  The consolation went to Jay Fannasy.  Jay Fannasy won the Sprint Aces Hard Charger award.

The 358 Late Model feature began with an eight-car crash on the front stretch.  All drivers escaped injury in the mishap. 

Roy Miller led the 20-lap feature with Brad Shank, Dan Zechman, Cam Zeigler and Sam Rial in pursuit.  Shank and Zechman had a close fight for second allowing Miller to gain a ten-car length lead.

Gene Knaub began the feature in 12th position.  During the first half of the event he was in a five-car fight for seventh position.  Once free of the pack, Knaub quickly caught the top five.  The Dover driver entered the top five on lap 11.

Dan Zechman captured second place and challenged Roy Miller for the lead.  Zechman was beside Miller when the caution came out with five laps remaining.

The restart created a shuffling of positions.  Dan Zechman became the new leader while Gene Knaub roared into second position.  Two laps from the finish Knaub went to the outside lane in turns one and two, passing Zechman at the entrance to turn three.

Gene Knaub crossed the finish line eight lengths ahead of Dan Zechman, Alan Sagi, Cam Zeigler, and Jake Jones.

Qualifying races for the 22 cars went to Roy Miller, Jared Miller, and Knaub.  Pat Beard claimed the Artwerks Hard Charger award.

Craig Morgan started outside of the front row in the 15 lap Street Stock feature.  Morgan was leading at the exit of turn two. 

Morgan, from Halifax, gained a comfortable lead.  There was an intense fight for second between Walt Lemmon, Mike Buckley, Doug Hoffman, Jeff Haag, and Kevin Sigler.

A caution with four laps remaining erased Morgan’s sizeable lead.  Craig Morgan continued his rapid pace the final four circuits. Kevin Sigler advanced into second but could not mount a challenge.  Morgan won his first of the season by ten lengths over Kevin Sigler, Walt Lemmon, Doug Hoffman, and Jeff Haag.

Morgan and Josh Bloom won the preliminary events for the 18-car field.  Lori Croop, making her first 2014 start, received the Artwerks Hard Charger award. Following the feature Jeff Haag’s Camaro went to the inspection building.  His car passed the examination.

At the completion of the Super Sportsman feature head flagman Randy Eichelberger became ill.  The track emergency crew placed Eichelberger in the ambulance.  Following medical attention, Eichelberger recovered and spent the remainder of the night in the speedway office.

This Saturday will be a big evening of racing.  The Blazer’s Body Shop Super Sportsman will compete in the Firecracker 30.  Joining the Super Sportsman will be the Credit Connection Auto Sales 358 Late Models, Aquafun Pools Street Stocks and a large fireworks display. There will be no increase in admission with adult ticket prices remaining at five dollars, plus children 12 and under free.  Racing begins at 6:30 PM.

The Credit Connection 358 Late Models will be in action Friday, July 4 at Williams Grove Speedway.  The 358 Late Models will be part of the Mitch Smith Memorial show.  Williams Grove Speedway management, as a way of thanking the 358 Late Model teams for their support, added the class to the event.  The stock cars will compete under Saturday Night Series rules and will receive SNS points.

Super Sportsman Results:

1. Frankie Herr, 2. Rick Barr, 3. Russ Mitten, 4. Davey Walsh, 5. Steve Wilbur, 6. Scott Dellinger, 7. Chad Trout, 8. Jay Fannasy, 9. Steve Fannasy, 10. Duaine Smith, 11. Gregg Foster, 12. Tony Jackson, 13. Kenny Edkin, 14. Devon Beidel, 15. Scott Smith, 16. Tom Wyckoff, 17. Bill Devine, 18. Teddy Thomas, 19. Scott Geesey, 20. Mike Enders, 21. LeRoy Martin, 22. Bobby Hockenberry, 23. Rich Eichelberger, 24. Doug Dobson DNQ: Cody Fairchok, Lanny Hake, Vance Yinger, Dave Berkheimer, Joe Orsulak, Chad Criswell

358 Late Model Results:

1. Gene Knaub, 2. Dan Zechman, 3. Alan Sagi, 4. Cam Zeigler, 5. Jake Jones, 6. Jared Miller, 7. Wes Alleman, 8. Sam Rial, 9. Travis Mease, 10. Shaun Jones, 11. Pat Beard, 12. Cole Amsden, 13. Larry Neiderer, 14. Roy Miller, 15. Brad Shank, 16. Randy Croop, 17. Tom Smith, 18. Chad Julius, 19. Matt Nailor, 20. Pat McNeal, 21. Zach Kauffman, 22. John Greider

Street Stock Results:

1. Craig Morgan, 2. Kevin Sigler, 3. Walt Lemmon, 4. Doug Hoffman, 5. Jeff Haag, 6. Mike Buckley, 7. Josh Bloom, 8. Nick Bloom, 9. Lori Croop, 10. Eric Troop, 11. Dave Shatto, 12. Charlie Pensinger, 13. Randy Zechman, 14. Steven Dove, 15. Brett Pickel, 16. Chris Heller DNS: Dustin Hollinger, Steve Hastings