Buckwalter Claims Walt Dyer Tribute At Williams Grove Friday
Austin Bishop wins second 305 main of year at track


Mechanicsburg –
Steve Buckwalter of Royersford wired the field to pick up the Walt Dyer Tribute Race at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, pocketing $4,610 for his ninth career sprint car win at the oval.

Austin Bishop likewise wired the field in the 305 sprint main to pick up his second 305 win of the season at Williams Grove Speedway.

Buckwalter started on the pole of the 25-lap 410 sprint car main with TJ Stutts to his outside.

The first start of the main was red flagged for a five-car tangle coming out of the third turn that collected Chad Trout, Mallie Shuster, Rodney Westhafer, Ryan Taylor and Danny Dietrich.

The ensuing restart saw Buckwalter take control over Stutts and Greg Hodnett in what would turn out to be a non-stop affair.

Campaigning a throw back paint scheme in honor of Dyer and his iconic No. 461 race car, Lance Dewease started fifth in the field and battled fourth starter Anthony Macri for the first half of the race in an effort to take the fourth spot.

Dewease was on a campaign to pick up the feature in honor of his former car owner Dyer however it was not to be as Buckwalter proved stout at the point.

Hodnett got by Stutts for second on the seventh tour and chased Buckwalter over the rest of the distance but was never able to get close enough to mount a challenge.

Buckwalter and his No. 17B ended up crossing the finish line .805 seconds ahead of Hodnett with Stutts riding hom third followed by Dewease and Macri.

Sixth through 10th went to Brock Zearfoss, Lucas Wolfe, Cory Haas, Aaron Ott and Brian Montieth.

Heats went to Montieth, Stutts and Macri with Alan Krimes taking the consolation race.

Lance Dewease set quick time with a lap of 16.556 seconds.

Prior to the races, Dyer drivers Dewease, Steve Siegel, Mike Wagner, Don Hill, Joey Allen, Paul Lotier, Jimmy Sheaffer, Van May, Tommy Beavers, Cliff Brian, Tom Stimely and Len Thompson all joined Dyer for a reunion and autograph session.

Bishop led all 20 l aps of the 305 sprint main to pick up his win.

Ken Duke Jr. lost second early in the race but then reclaimed the spot for the finish.

Jeff Geiges rode hom third followed by Scott Ellerman and Zach Newlin.

Heats for the 42 cars in action went to Rick Stief, Mike Alleman, Darren Miller and Jon Scarborough.

Twin consolations went to Jonathan Jones and Alex Potosky.

Feature Finishes

410 sprints:
1. Steve Buckwalter, 2. Greg Hodnett, 3. TJ Stutts, 4. Lance Dewease, 5. Anthony Macri, 6. Brock Zearfoss, 7. Lucas Wolfe, 8. Cory Haas, 9. Aaron Ott, 10. Brian Montieth, 11. Brandon Rahmer, 12. Freddie Rahmer, 13. Ryan Smith, 14. Danny Dietrich, 15. Alan Krimes, 16. Tyler Ross, 17. Robbie Kendall, 18. Mallie Shuster, 19. Jordan Givler, 20. Adrian Shaffer, 21. Eric Tomecek, 22. Ryan Taylor, 23. Chad Trout, 24. Rodney Westhafer

DNQ: Jim Shuster, Matt Boland, Troy Fraker, Nicole Bower

358 sprints: 1. Austin Bishop, 2. Ken Duke Jr., 3. Jeff Geiges, 4. Scott Ellerman, 5. Zach Newlin, 6. Jay Krout, 7. Darren Miller, 8. Kyle Smith, 9. Jonathan Scarborough, 10 Dave Grube, 11. Jaremi Hanson, 12. Nick Sweigart, 13. Mike Alleman, 14. Larry McVey, 15. Rick Stief, 16. Christian Rumsey, 17. John Walp, 18. Dave Brown Jr., 19. Jonathan Jones, 20. Reed Thompson, 21. Stephanie Dodson, 22. Josh Guiher 23. Colton Hoover, 24. Kassidy Kreitz, 25. Alex Petosky, 26. Cale Reigle

DNQ: Fred Arnold, Drew Ritchey, Dave Wickham, Josh Dressler, Tom Carberry, Eric Husick, Devin Adams, Wally Eshenaur, Ian Detweiler, Dan McLair, Kyle Ganoe, Ryan Lynn, Johnny Yanek, Kurt Knepper, Erin Statler, Tyler Cochran