Fresno Phenom Scelzi Whips World Of Outlaws In Williams Grove Open Night 1





Mechanicsburg – The “Fresno Phenom,” 16-year old Giovanni Scelzi upended the World of Outlaws Sprint Cars at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night in the opening night of the 56th annual Champion Racing Oil National Open races. 


Scelzi’s win in the Indy Race Parts No. 71 was his first ever at the track and with the World of Outlaws circuit and it gained him $10,000 for the victory.


Both he and David Gravel earned the front row starting spots for the 27-lap main event, run in honor of the late Greg Hodnett.


Gravel bolted into the lead when action began in the feature over Scelzi with fast timer Logan Schuchart racing in third.


Only five laps were completed before the first caution flag of the race unfurled for a stopped Schuchart.


The restart saw Gravel choose the inside lane for the restart and he held Scelzi at bay while fourth runner Freddie Rahmer got around Brian Montieth for third.


The pace was again slowed with 11 laps down when Sheldon Haudenschild looped his machine.


Gravel chose the outside lane for this restart and Scelzi tried a slider in the first corner but Gravel was too far around and was able to thwart the attempt with Lucas Wolfe now up to fourth as 12 laps went on the board.


A lap 15 restart is what netted Scelzi the lead as this time Gravel changed it up and went back to the inside lane for the restart.


But Gravel got out in front going into the first turn and entered high allowing Scelzi to cross over and drive underneath for the lead


Scelzi then muscled up off of the bottom onto the backstretch to get control and take flight on the cushion.


The leaders entered the backmarkers with two laps to go, allowing Gravel to close back in but Scelzi held on for the popular victory by 732 seconds.


“I was worried I'd fade at the end," Scelzi said.


“I slid him and tried to leave him room and then on the backstretch we kinda’ checked out.  We could work anywhere honestly.” 


Gravel talked about his view of Scelzi’s winning pass.


“I didn’t know what to do on restarts," he said, “and he was able to slide me there and I coulda’ held it but I slid up in the marbles.” 


Lucas Wolfe rode home third followed by Rahmer and Shane Stewart.


Sixth throuth 10th went to Trey Starks, Brian Montieth, Brad Sweet, Brian Brown and Donny Schatz.


Logan Wagner donated his $300 fast time award to Sherry Hodnett as did Donny Schatz, who collected $500 for Hard Charger laurels.


Heats went to Ian Madsen, Sweet, Montieth,  Schuchart, Sclezi and Rahmer.


Kyle Reinhardt won the D Main, Danny Dietrich took the C Main and Lance Dewease won the B Main.


Twin dashes went to Gravel and Scelzi.


Schucharts fast time was 16.306 seconds.


Keep up to all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook and Twitter.


Feature finish



410 sprints, 27 laps: 1. Giovanni Scelzi, 2. David Gravel, 3. Lucas Wolfe, 4. Freddie Rahmer, 5. Shane Stewart, 6. Trey Starks, 7. Brian Montieth, 8. Brad Sweet, 9. Brian Brown, 10. Donny Schatz, 11. Daryn Pittman, 12. Brent Marks, 13. Ian Madsen, 14. Lance Dewease, 15. Paul McMahan, 16. Sheldon Haudenschild, 17. TJ Stutts, 18. Danny Dietrich, 19. Chad Trout, 20. Jacob Allen, 21. Tim Shaffer, 22. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 23. Cory Haas, 24. Robbie Kendall, 25. Carson Macedo, 26. Ryan Smith, 27. Logan Schuchart.


DNQ: Troy Fraker, Jordan Givler, Justin Henderson, David Franek, Kyle Moody, Nicole Bower, Adrian Shaffer, Greg Wilson, Kraig Kinser, Jac Haudenschild, Steve Buckwalter, Brandon Rahmer, Jim Siegel, Justin Whittall, Anthony Macri, Chase Dietz, Jared Esh, Logan Wagner, Jason Sides, Brock Zearfoss, Bud Kaeding, Ryan Taylor, Kyle Reinhardt