Deep Field Of All Stars To Challenge Posse In Friday Williams Grove Tommy Memorial

  Locals hope to keep 32 & 0 record against invaders intact in honor of Hinnershitz 


Mechanicsburg –
 Williams Grove Speedway will present the annual Tommy Hinnershitz Memorial coming up Friday, April 13 at 7:30 pm and for the first time in history, the special event will be sanctioned by a touring group. 

The Arctic Cat All Stars Circuit of Champions Sprints will invade to compete for the $5,000 top prize and they will bring with them a deep contingent of competitors as the circuit recently announced a list of 20 touring drivers who will follow the series in 2018. 

Adult general admission for the April 13 racing program is set at $20 with students ages 13-20 admitted for just $10. 

Kids ages 12 and under are always admitted for FREE at Williams Grove Speedway. 

The PASS/IMCA 305 sprints are also on the special All Stars Tommy racing card. 

Tommy Hinnershitz, known as “The Flying Dutchman,” from Oley, Pennsylvania, holds the distinction of winning the first ever race held at historic Williams Grove Speedway back on May 21, 1939. 

After a 30-year career, spanning 1930-1960, Hinnershitz retired from the sport but stayed in touch with his legacy and motorsports until the time of his death in 1999. 

And Williams Grove will honor his legacy with Friday’s Tommy Hinnershitz Memorial, pitting the All Stars traverlers against the Pennsylvania Posse for the first time this season. 

Over the years since the All Stars first appeared at Williams Grove back in 1970, no bonafide touring All Star has ever won an All Stars race at Williams Grove Speedway. 

Coming into 2018, the Pennsylvania Posse holds a perfect 32 and 0 record against the All Stars. 

And they want to keep that record alive in the Tommy Memorial but a talent-laden field will be pulling pitside to challenge the Posse. 

Expected to enter the event are time-tested, well-traveled, highly successful veterans such as Jac Haudenschild, Joey Saldana, Dave Blaney, Chad Kemenah and Paul McMahan 

And with a supporting All Stars cast of young guns like Parker Price-Miller, Max McGhee, Carson Macedo, Cale Conley and Aaron Reutzel among others, 2018 may just prove to be the season of the Possee’s undoing at Williams Grove. 

Lance Dewease is the defending winner of the Tommy race and a two-time winner of the event since it took the Tommy name in 2007. Prior to that time the race was known as the Early Bird Championship, begun in 1983. 

Keep up to all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrovecom or by following the track on Facebook and Twitter 

Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists