Friday Hamilton Tribute Race At Williams Grove Honors Illustrious Ownership Career




Mechanicsburg –Williams Grove Speedway will honor Hall of Fame car owner Al Hamilton and his iconic No. 77 Hamilton Motorsports sprint car coming up this Friday night, August 31 at 7:30 pm with the Al Hamilton Tribute race for the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprints.


Hamilton, who will turn 90-years old on his next birthday, fielded his No. 77 and sometimes No. 78 sprint cars in the region, at Williams Grove and across the nation for decades from the late 1960s through 2006. 


At Williams Grove alone he and his car accrued a total of eight track titles beginning in 1984 and 1985 with Keith Kauffman of Mifflintown at the wheel. 


Other titles came at the hands of Fred Rahmer from 1997 – 2000 and with Lance Dewease’s talents in 2002 and 2003. 


The Clearfield native sits atop the oval’s all time sprint car owner win list with 92 victories. 


Winners for Hamilton at Williams Grove with their oval win totals are as follows: Bobbie Adamson, 7; Billy Cassella, 1; Roger Larson, 1; Jan Opperman, 1; Lynn Paxton, 7; Mitch Smith, 1; Keith Kauffman, 24; Stevie Smith, 7; Fred Rahmer, 27; Lance Dewease, 10; Greg Hodnett, 5; Todd Shaffer, 1. 


Bobbie Adamson won Hamilton his first race as an owner at Williams Grove in 1970 when the duo teamed to beat the original All Stars Circuit Champions of Sprints at the track on July 29.


Todd Shaffer gave him his last oval victory on July 14, 2006. 


Hamilton’s cars beat the All Stars at the track a total of three times while it bested the World of Outlaws at the track on five different occasions.


The No. 77 sprinter claimed the prestigious Williams Grove National Open in 1983 with Lynn Paxton at the wheel followed by wins in 1989 and 1991 with Steve Smith and a final win in 2002 with Lance Dewease.


The car also picked up the National Open Preliminary in 1984 and in 1989.


In 2000 with Fred Rahmer at the wheel, the Hamilton mount won the first ever World of Outlaws Division II event run anywhere when Ted Johnson launched the series at Williams Grove.   


Rahmer beat the Division II again at the Grove a year later.


In the Williams Grove Diamond Series, Hamilton found his car a series titlist twice, in 1999 and in 2002, with Rahmer and Dewease, respectively.


The Friday Hamilton Tribute race for the 410 sprints will pay $4,777 to win in honor of Hamilton’s No. 77.


Prior to the night’s racing action, Al Hamilton himself and a host of former No. 77 drivers will meet and greet fans in the infield from 6 to 7 pm. 


A live broadcast on Beer Hill Gang TV featuring Mr. Hamilton and some of his drivers will also take place from 6 to 7 pm. 


Adult general admission for the show is $18 with students ages 13 – 20 admitted for $10. 


Kids ages 12 and under are always admitted for FREE at Williams Grove Speedway.


Some of the drivers slated to appear in order to fete near 90-year old Hamilton include Fred Rahmer, Lance Dewease, Greg Hodnett, Todd Shaffer, Keith Kauffman, Dave Calaman, Steve Siegel, Aaron Ott, Kenny Jacobs and Ed Zirkle. 


At least two Hamilton No. 77 sprint cars are slated to be on display in the infield adjacent to the autograph session.


Keep up to all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at or by following the track on Facebook and Twitter


Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists