32nd annual Williams Grove Speedway Jack Gunn Memorial “Down Under” This Friday

  Prestigious sprint car event offers unique format, total purse worth nearly $30,000





Mechanicsburg –Williams Grove Speedway will present the 32nd annual Jack Gunn Memorial for 410 sprint cars this Friday night, August 29 at 7:30 pm.


The 2014 event, run in honor of the late Promoter Of The Year as it has every year since 1983, will be conducted using a format similar to that used in most if not all Australian sprint car races.


 The 30-lap Jack Gunn Memorial “Down Under” will offer $6,000 to win the 30-lap main event out of a total purse worth nearly $30,000 in total. 


Time trials will set heat starting grids and every driver will compete in two heat events with points earned from heat performances helping to formulate a dash lineup and a feature lineup.   


Fireworks will also be part of the special event that is the next to last leg of the 2014 Diamond Series for the sprints at Williams Grove. 


The popular Williams Grove Saturday Series street stocks are also on the Gunn Memorial racing program.


Adult general admission for the special show is just $16 with youth ages 13 – 20 admitted for just $8.

And please remember, kids ages 12 and under are always admitted free at Williams Grove Speedway!     


The Gunn Memorial race has been run annually every year since 1983 in honor of the late, great, nationally recognized 1979 Promoter Of The Year Gunn, who not only guided ovals like Williams Grove to worldwide fame but who also at times during his career held the reigns of tracks like Penn National, Selinsgrove and Hagerstown, Md.


Over the years only the sports most elite drivers have driven to victory in the prestigious event.


Names like Bobby Allen, Doug Wolfgang, Dave Blaney, Kenny Jacobs, Don Kreitz Jr., Frankie Kerr, Lance Dewease, Stevie Smith, Fred Rahmer, Greg Hodnett and Daryn Pittman all dot the event win list.


The defending Jack Gunn Memorial titlist is Fred Rahmer, who is now retired but currently fields a car for 1998 Gunn champion Stevie Smith. 


Williams Grove Speedway will return just two nights later with the running of the Billy Kimmel Memorial on Sunday evening, August 31 at 7:30 pm.


The show will feature the 410 sprints and the super sportsman as well as a holiday fireworks display.


Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by visiting the oval on Facebook or via Twitter.





1983            Bobby Allen

1984            Randy Wolfe

1985            Doug Wolfgang

1986            Dave Blaney

1987            Doug Wolfgang

1988            Don Kreitz Jr.

1989            Kenny Jacobs

1990            Don Kreitz Jr.

1991            Frankie Kerr

1992            Don Kreitz Jr.

1993            Don Kreitz Jr.

1994            Don Kreitz Jr.

1995            Lance Dewease

1996            Lance Dewease

1997            Kevin Gobrecht

1998            Stevie Smith

1999            Kevin Gobrecht

2000            Todd Shaffer

2001           Keith Kauffman

2002          Lance Dewease

2003            Greg Hodnett

2004            Lucas Wolfe

2005            Jason Johnson

2006            Doug Esh

2007            Mark Smith

2008            Brian Leppo

2009            Daryn Pittman

2010            Don Kreitz Jr.

2011            Fred Rahmer

2012           Cory Haas

2013        Fred Rahmer

Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists