Impressive Sprint Car Career Of Todd Shaffer To Be Feted Friday At Williams Grove

Mechanicsburg Friday’s sprint car program at Williams Grove Speedway will honor the career of three-time track champion, “Mr. Excitement,” Todd Shaffer of Millerstown.

The 410 sprint car drivers will vie for $6,088 to win in the 25-lap feature as part of the 2021 Diamond Series at the track.

In addition, up for grabs in the sprint car feature will be the “Mr. Excitement Hard Charger Award,” paying $350 as sponsored by Shaffer’s pit crew members from throughout his career.

Todd Shaffer scored his first career win at Williams Grove Speedway on July 3, 1988 and scored his last in an All Stars event on May 8, 2009, during his run to a final track title.

Shaffer began his career in sprint cars in 1986 and along the way he picked up Williams Grove wins in the season opener in 2009, the Jack Gunn Memorial in 2000 and in 2001 and in the Mitch Smith Memorial in 1998.

He also scored another Williams Grove win with the All Stars, in 1997, as well as taking a score over the World of Outlaws Division II series in 2002.

Additional Grove wins came in the Daryl Gohn Memorial in 1993 and in honor of Maynard Yingst in 1998.

In total, Todd Shaffer recorded 38 sprint car victories at Williams Grove Speedway, placing him just inside the top 10 on the all-time oval career win list.

His track championships, all for car owners Gary and Patty Beam of Gardners, came in 1995, 2007 and in 2009.

Shaffer also earned a Williams Grove Diamond Series title in 2009.

Across his entire career at all ovals, the Millerstown pilot piled up 196 total sprint car wins.

His best season at Williams Grove Speedway was in 2001 when he put up a total of six victories. The 1997 season offered five wins.

His best finish in the Williams Grove National Open was a second to Donny Schatz in 2007.

Aside from Williams Grove, Shaffer earned track titles at Port Royal, Sharon and Selinsgrove Speedways to go along with marquee wins at Port Royal, Sharon, Selinsgrove and Lincoln.

Other than himself in 1986, car owners for Shaffer came in the form of the Beams, Leon Wintermyer, Al Hamilton, Jesse Keen, Jim and Laura Allebach, Fred Rahmer and Dave Middleswarth.

To celebrate Shaffer’s career, a Beam Team reunion of sorts including car owner Patty Beam will be held in the speedway infield from 5:45 – 6:45 pm on race night.

The pre-race action will include a live Facebook broadcast on Beer Hill Gang TV that will be simulcast on the speedway public address system.

Taking part in the pre-race will be crew members, mechanics and sponsors from the Shaffer/Beam team over the years along with the Allebachs and the son of late car owner Al Hamilton, Mr. Tim Hamilton.

Good friends Fred Rahmer and Lance Dewease are also expected to be a part of the celebration.

Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists