Williams Grove Opens with 410 Sprints And Super Late Models March 27




Mechanicsburg –Williams Grove Speedway will open the 2015 racing season this Friday night, March 27 at 7:30 pm with a good old fashioned Williams Grove twinbill of Lawrence Chevrolet 410 sprints and super late models.


Fireworks will help bring in the season of professional, local dirt track auto racing at Williams Grove.  


Full programs of heat races and features for each division is on the agenda with the 410 sprints racing for $3,600 to win.


Adult general admission for the prestigious season opener is set at just $15 with youth ages 12 – 20 admitted for just $10. 


The Williams Grove portion of the 50/50 drawing on the night will be donated to Wounded Warriors.


Last year, Gerard McIntyre Jr. held off the furious charges of Stevie Smith and Brian Montieth to win the 2014 season opener for the 410 sprints on March 28. 


Since 1939 when Tommy Hinnershitz won the inaugural race at the famed facility, so many highly recognized names and even some not so much have scored the prestigious first Williams Grove race of the year.


Well-knowns or on their way up the ladder at the time of their victories were the likes of Jan Opperman, AJ Foyt, Ted Horn and Hinnershitz.


Kasey Kahne, destined for bigger and better things in todays NASCAR arena, took the opener back in 2000. 


But perhaps lesser-known at the time or even unique names like Kevin Collins, Brian Paulus, Marlett Naill and Gig Stephens have also taken that famous first checkered flag of the year at Williams Grove. 


Since the dawning of the decade in 2010, opening day winners at Williams Grove have been: Fred Rahmer, 2010 and 2013; Stevie Smith, 2011; and Danny Dietirch, 2012. 


Greg Hodnett, the defending Williams Grove track champion, has a pair of opening day victories to his credit at the track, coming back in 2002 and in 2004 and in fact the Thomasville speedster has already won in the area this season.


Williams Grove Speedway will return to action on April 3 at 7:30 pm with a program of 410 sprints and super sportsman.


The kickoff of the 2015 Saturday Night Series featuring the super sportsman is slated for Saturday, May 2.


Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website at www.williamsgrove.com or by keeping up with the oval on Facebook or Twitter. 





2014        Gerard McIntyre Jr.

2013        Fred Rahmer

2012        Danny Dietrich

2011        Stevie Smith

2010        Fred Rahmer

2009        Todd Shaffer

2008        Fred Rahmer

2007        Mike Erdley

2006        Lance Dewease

2005        Fred Rahmer

2004        Greg Hodnett

2003        Cris Eash

2002        Greg Hodnett

2001        Don Kreitz Jr.

2000        Kasey Kahne

1999        Brian Paulus

1998        Fred Rahmer

1997        Fred Rahmer

1996        Kevin Gobrecht

1995        Lance Dewease

1994        Don Kreitz Jr.

1993        Keith Kauffman

1992        Don Kreitz Jr.

1991        Steve Smith

1990        Kenny Adams

1989        Stevie Smith

1988        Kenny Jacobs

1987        Cris Eash

1986        Keith Kauffman

1985        Keith Kauffman

1984        Keith Kauffman

1983        Kevin Collins

1982        Bobby Allen

1981        Lynn Paxton

1980        Lynn Paxton

1979        Kramer Williamson

1978        Bobby Allen

1977        Paul Pitzer

1976        Steve Smith

1975        Jan Opperman

1974        Kramer Williamson

1973        Jan Opperman

1972        Smokey Snellbaker

1971        Kenny Weld

1970        Jan Opperman

1969        Ray Tilley

1968        Kenny Weld

1967        Bobbie Adamson

1966        Leroy Felty

1965        Ray Tilley

1964        A.J. Foyt

1963        Don Branson

1962        Dick Tobias

1961        Leroy Felty

1960        Gig Stephens

1959        Frankie Thompson

1958        John Thompson

1957        Johnny Mackison Sr.

1956        Johnny Mackison Sr.

1955        Marlett Naill

1954        Johnny Thompson

1953        Jimmy Bryan

1952        Tommy Hinnershitz

1951        Troy Ruttman

1950        Bill Schindler

1949        Tommy Hinnershitz

1948        Ted Horn

1947        Ted Horn

1946        Walt Ader

1945        Ted Horn

1941        Vic Nauman

1940        Mark Light

1939        Tommy Hinnershitz


Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists