Freddie Rahmer Wins Week Before The Outlaws, First Since Opening Day At Williams Grove

358 sprints postponed due to rain

Mechanicsburg – Freddie Rahmer scored the Diamond Series World of Outlaws Tune Up event for sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, taking $6,000 for the victory that was his second of the season at the oval but first since opening day in March.

The 358 sprint car feature fell victim to rain and will be made up on Friday night, July 30, when the 358 sprints next appear at the track.

Dylan Cisney of Port Royal appeared headed to a perfect night in 410 sprint car action, perhaps running the best laps of his career at the oval throughout the night from the start after earning his second consecutive fast time award in time trials with a lap of 16.936 seconds.

Cisney went on to win his heat race and then draw the pole for the dash before finishing where he started in the race.

This set him on the pole for the 25-lap main event and when the green flag fell he beat second-starter Rahmer up off of the bottom to take control.

However the first start was red flagged for a two-car flip in the third turn with a total of four cars involved including Dylan Norris, Dwight Leppo, Doug Hammaker and Robbie Kendall.

So, when action resumed Cisney went to work and did the same thing again and pulled away from Rahmer with the lead while running the cushion.

But the cushion bit him on the fourth lap when his car bounced into the corner and bucked to a stop high in the second corner after clouting the outside rail.

The disappointing end to Cisney’s race and 1.149 second lead handed control to defending track champion Rahmer.

Lucas Wolfe followed for the restart backed up by TJ Stutts and Lance Dewease.

Dewease got under Stutts for third on lap five but by that time Rahmer had already built a sizable lead over Wolfe.

By lap 10 when Rahmer entered the backmarkers he held a 3.230 second advantage.

As the race wore on, well into the second half, Rahmer began struggling in traffic and hanging in the corners while entering on the cushion, allowing both Wolfe and Dewease to inch into sight.

Then a reprieve for the leader came with six laps to go when Devon Borden stopped on the frontchute.

After starting tenth, Borden was up to sixth before stopping.

Rahmer blasted away on the restart to pick up the win by 2.567 seconds over Wolfe and Dewease.

Stutts and Alan Krimes rounded out the top five finishers.

Sixth through 10th went to Skylar Gee, Chase Dietz, Chad Trout, Tyler Ross and Matt Campbell.

Heats went to Cisney, Gee and Wolfe.

The 358 feature took the green flag only to see a violent two-car flip take place on the frontstretch as the field roared past the flagstand.

The cars of John Stehman and Justin Foster catapaulted past the flagman, into the outside fences and busted apart as they landed with one fuel cell vaulting forward before landing near the first turn.

Both drivers climbed from their cars just as rains began falling, forcing completion of the main to July 30.

Feature Finishes

410 sprint cars, 25 laps: 1. Freddie Rahmer, 2. Lucas Wolfe, 3. Lance Dewease, 4. TJ Stutts, 5. Alan Krimes, 6. Skylar Gee, 7. Chase Dietz, 8. Chad Trout, 9. Tyler Ross, 10. Matt Campbell, 11. Steve Buckwalter, 12. Justin Whittall, 13. Chris Arnold, 14. Devon Borden, 15. Aaron Bollinger, 16. Dylan Norris, 17. Tyler Bear, 18. Steve Downs, 19. Dylan Cisney, 20. Dwight Leppo, 21. Bradley Howard, 22. Robbie Kendall, 23. Doug Hammaker, 24. Kyle Moody

DNS: Todd Zinn 

Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists