Gravel Overtakes Pittman For Williams Grove World Of Outlaws Win Friday

Mechanicsburg – David Gravel powered under Daryn Pittman in the first and second turns to score the World of Outlaws sprint car win at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night.

The win was worth $8,000 for Gravel aboard the Jason Johnson Racing No. 41 machine. It was the fifth victory of the Connecticut driver’s career at the oval.

Gravel started the 25-lap feature on the pole but it was Oklahoma’s Pittman aboard the Roth Motorsports entry who took the lead when the race began with Gravel and Danny Dietrich giving chase.

Gravel and Dietrich kept pace with the leader during the first 10 laps of the race so when Pittman entered the rear of the field on the 12th circuit, they were in the hunt for the lead.

Dietrich had actually gotten around Gravel for second by the time the race got to traffic but Gravel was back in second and ready to challenge for the win as Pittman began working the backmarkers.

Gravel drove low across the first corner at the halfway point to snare control but before he could get settled into command the only caution flag of the race unfurled with eight laps to go for a stopped Jason Sides.

Prior to the yellow flag, 10th starter Lance Dewease was making haste through the field and was up to fifth but with the field sorted out and single file for the return to green, he fell back one spot before the finish.

Dietrich worked his way by Pittman with six laps to go by zipping the top lane but he failed to mount a challenge for the victory.

Instead, Gravel motored to a 1.518 second lead with Dietrich, Pittman, Shane Stewart and Tim Shaffer in tow.

Sixth through 10th went to Dewease, Giovanni Scelzi, Donny Schatz, Brad Sweet and Chad Trout.

“I think i need to move to PA ‘cuz this state treats me well,” winner Gravel said after taking the checkers.

“I was able to find the bottom in one and two and could run anywhere in three and four."

Dewease set overall quick time on the 40-car field with a lap of 16.761 seconds, an average speed of 109.970 mph.

Heats went to Gravel, Scelzi, Shaffer and Dietrich.

Lucas Wolfe won the C Main with Cory Haas taking the B Main.

Gavel earned the pole for the main by winning the dash race.

The World of Outlaws series returns to Williams Grove on Saturday night, May 18 for a $17,000 to win, 30-lap main event run as The Morgan Cup.

Keep up to date on all the latest speedway news and information by visiting the oval’s official website located at or by following the track on Twitter and Facebook.

Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. David Gravel, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. Daryn Pittman, 4. Shane Stewart, 5. Tim Shaffer, 6. Lance Dewease, 7. Giovanni Scelzi, 8. Donny Schatz, 9. Brad Sweet, 10. Chad Trout, 11. Ian Madsen, 12. Logan Schuchart, 13. Ryan Smith, 14. Freddie Rahmer, 15. Jacob Allen, 16. Brent Marks, 17. Kerry Madsen, 18. Anthony Macri, 19. Brian Montieth, 20. Carson Macedo, 21. Dylan Cisney, 22. Cory Haas, 23. Parker Price Miller, 24. Lucas Wolfe, 25. Gerard McIntyre Jr., 26. TJ Stutts, 27. Jason Sides

DNQ: Kyle Moody, Brett Michals, Sheldon Haudenschild, Kraig Kinser, Robbie Kendall, Steve Buckwalter, Troy Fraker, Kody Lehman, Landon Myers, Dave Blaney, Adrian Shaffer, Brock Zearfoss, Cory Eliason,

Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists