Dewease Makes History For Kreitz At Williams Grove, Wins 10K In All Stars Esh Tribute

Don Kreitz Jr. becomes winningest sprint car owner in oval history with 93

Mechanicsburg – Lance Dewease made more sprint car history at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night when he claimed the All Stars Circuit of Champions Sprints Doug Esh Tribute Race, worth $10,000.

With the win, Dewease made car owner Don Kreitz Jr. the winningest sprint car driver in history at the track with a win total that now stands at 93.

Kreitz overtook late car owner Al Hamilton to claim the record with 61 of the 93 victories to Kreitz’s credit coming with him as an owner/driver before Dewease moved into the seat of his No. 69K.

The victory itself was the 113th of Dewease’s career at the famed oval of which 10 are now All Stars wins.

Chase Dietz started on the pole for the 30-lap Esh race flanked by ace Devon Borden.

However on the first lap, Anthony Macri, who was looking for his first win of the year at the track, hustled by Borden to snare the second spot and set his sights on Dietz.

Borden fell to third but hung in contention for the second spot and in fact had just pulled the trigger to reclaim the position when disaster struck the leader in the third turn.

Nearly simultaneously with Borden’s pass for second, Dietz spun at the front of the field and while Borden and Macri skated by, Freddie Rahmer wasn’t as lucky.

With Borden’s pass negated, Macri assumed command for the restart with Dewease restarting in fourth after taking the initial green flag from the seventh spot.

And while Dewease seemed to struggle to get around any cars during those first 10 laps, the second 10 seemed totally opposite.

He mowed down All Stars point leader Tyler Courtney for third when action resumed before quickly catching Borden for second and taking that spot on lap 12.

In four more laps Dewease was racing in the leader’s shadow but it took until lap 19 for the winning move to take place as the leader worked traffic.

Working well off of the bottom in turn four, Dewease ate up Macri’s advantage to cross the line side by side for control, edging into the narrowest of leads barely visible to the naked eye by clocked at .012 seconds.

But the next 11 laps certainly produced a visible advantage for Dewease as he got away from the field while attention turned to 11th starter Danny Dietrich.

By lap 25 Dietrich was up to second and trying to close on Dewease.

A caution flag with four laps to go for a shredded tire on Tyler Courtney’s mount cleared the way for both drivers with Dewease pulling away to a 3.089 second lead at the finish.

Dietrich finished second followed by Macri, Borden and Kyle Moody.

Sixth through 10th went to Dylan Norris, Jim Siegel, Cory Eliason, Zeb Wise and Brent Marks.

Heats went to Borden, Moody, Tim Shaffer and Dewease.

Dietz won the dash to earn the pole for the feature while Kyle Reinhardt scored the B Main.

Norris set overall fast time with a lap of 16.999 seconds in qualifications.

Feature Finishes

410 sprints, 30 laps:1. Lance Dewease, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. Anthony Macri, 4. Devon Borden, 5. Kyle Moody, 6. Dylan Norris, 7. Jim Siegel, 8. Cory Eliason, 9. Zeb Wise, 10. Brent Marks, 11. Justin Whittall, 12. Tim Shaffer, 13. Chad Trout, 14. Kyle Reinhardt, 15. Freddie Rahmer, 16. TJ Stutts, 17. Sam Hafertepe Jr., 18. Lucas Wolfe, 19. Chris Windom, 20. Hunter Schuerenberg, 21. Cameron Smith, 22. Scott Thiel, 23. Billy Dietrich, 24. Tyler Courtney, 25. Chase Dietz, 26. Conner Morrell, 27. Austin Bishop

DNQ: Steve Downs, Jordan Givler, Sye Lynch, Steve Buckwalter, JJ Hickle, Ryan Smith, Brandon Rahmer

Current Points
Driver Info
World of Outlaws Tickets
General Information
History & Win Lists